RPGaDay: Friendly surprises

This is day 28 of RPGaDay, hosted by BrigadeCon, and the question is: What film or novel would you be most surprised that a friend had not seen or read?

RPGaDay 2016

Honestly, I can’t think of a film or novel which I’d be surprised one of my friends hadn’t seen or read. We have a variety of tastes which coincide in certain aspects. I don’t feel any of the stuff which I enjoy is required reading or watching.

My favourite TV series if Babylon 5 and I know it has a cult following. For a over 20 year old show, I know it isn’t as well known as Star Trek, Doctor Who, or Star Wars. When my friend’s boyfriend stated he has a bunch of pirated science fiction TV shows on a computer and wanted to be tested on his collection, I said “Babylon 5” and he said that’s unfortunately not one he has. I found it hilarious based on his earlier proud claim. If I have a friend who hasn’t seen Babylon 5 and I feel they may be interested, I’d recommend they watch it.

babylon5
For rpgs, I may have some recommended reading or watching in a game we play. This is to help get the feel and theme of the game. I don’t believe someone is required to watch or read a product to enjoy it. Honestly, if there is a game IP which I’m passionate about and I can’t convey it to other players, I’d feel defeated. I wish to show my passion for an IP and make my friends interested in it and enjoy it. I wish they go see or read the movie, tv series, or novel after we’ve played the game.

How do you treat IPs for your games? Do you have required reading or viewing for your games?

Leave a Reply

