RPGaDay: sources of inspiration

We are at day 15 of RPGaDay and the question is: What types or source of inspiration do you turn to most often for RPGs?

RPGaDay is hosted by BrigadeCon this year.

RPGaDay 2016

I have two primary sources of inspiration, books and comics.

For books, I read a variety of genres. I focus primarily on science fiction and fantasy. I’m part of the Tome Show book club and thus read books which might interest D&D players. Reading fiction helps me with the pacing and narrative tropes for the games. Books provides a good way to get characterisation of multi-dimensional characters.

I take most of my inspiration from comics, mostly superhero comics. I love the superheroic stories for action rpgs. You get far fetched plots and highly contrived stories which works well for games like D&D. Comics helped me run the World Task Force game from several years ago. I touched the various superhero tropes to play in a fun four year campaign. The visual aspect of comics aids me in imagining fantastic scenes to include in games.

I do grab some inspiration from TV shows, movies, and video games. I find I have to do some more work especially for popular franchises unless I wish to use that franchise. I’ve run games set in the Mario Bros. universe at CanGames over the years. They are fun and easy to describe to fans.

What do you use for inspiration? How do you use it?

Leave a Reply

