RPGaDay catch-up part 3: Days 10 to 12

Welcome back to my RPGaDay catch-up. With this post, I’ll be caught up on the questions.

This year, RPGaDay is hosted by BrigadeCon.

RPGaDay 2016

Day 10: What was the largest in-game surprise you have experienced?

I find this question strangely difficult to answer. As I improvise alot in my games. When I take the GM role, I merely set up situations and see them evolve. I am constantly surprised by what happens next which is in a way a cop-out.

Speaking to Brenda, she helped me remind me of an event that surprised me. For her, she was surprised that Princess Stasi was a succubus. My story is from a RPGA living campaign named Living Jungle.

Living Jungle was an organized play campaign set in Malatra, an isolate jungle environment in the Forgotten Realms setting. You were members of tribes and it had a rich atmosphere. I played Zwanlo of the Simbara tribe, a warrior mystic who was brave. In AD&D 2nd edition terms, I was a human wizard and I charged into combat at level 1.

On one adventure, we had to make a choice between saving the life of Bengoukee, a great and wise shaman who would lead our armies against the enemy or the life of spirit of the lion who would fight the tiger in the mystical realm. Zanlo had come to respect Bengoukee and didn’t wish for him to come to harm and as a member of the Simbara tribe, he worshipped the spirit of the lion. He believed that both should be strong and thus as a faithful servant, he offered his own life as a sacrifice. This felt natural and wasn’t the surprise. What surprised me was others in the party joining me in their offering. I think they thought I had seen a different angle where they might gain much when really, it was just a noble sacrifice that Zwanlo was making. The DM, Scott Delahunt, ruled that our sacrifice would mean that we would love a level which I felt was just. The other players got angry at me for having their characters lose  a level. I found it funny that on my record sheet, there was a negative value of how much xp gained. Scott later told me that if no one else had joined me that Zwanlo would be dead as I expected.

Day 11: Which gamer that you have played with has most affected the way that you play?

I would say my best friend from high school, Miguel Gervais, had the most effect on the way I play. He introduced me to D&D even though I had been playing “Livres dont vous êtes le héros” (Choose your own adventure books) and TMNT & Other Strangeness. Most of my previous experience was learning the game and showing to others. Miguel brought me to a group who had experience to the game. From there we tried a bunch of stuff and experimented with the rules. We weren’t afraid of changing stuff and go silly. I still remember his milk mage for one of our comedy April fools games. He set me on the path to try out stuff and learn from it. I continue to try stuff and learn. I’ve also learned so much since we made so many mistakes over the years.

Day 12: What game is your group most likely to play next? Why?

There’s various ways to interpret this question. Each leads to a different answer. The next time my regular group meets, we will probably play Dungeon World. I suspect we won’t have quorum for a game of Questers United, our D&D 4th edition campaign, and thus they will play the small group which Questers United send to tie up loose ends. I’m experimenting using 2 different systems for the same setting and have them interact.

As an aside, if you are a fan of D&D 4th edition and wish to join a campaign, please contact me. We’ve made modifications mostly from 13th Age. Questers United could use a new member probably from another plane or prime material world. If you wish silly fun and fight dragons, let’s talk.

On August 20th, I will be the Keeper for a Call of Cthulhu 7th edition demo using the A Time of Harvest organized play campaign. While this isn’t my group, it is a game that I’ll be playing next.

Finally, after Questers United campaign ends, I think we would be most likely to play Night’s Black Agents, the Dracula Dossier campaign. I have it and saw it win a bunch of Ennies at Gen Con. My best friend, Christine, finished reading my copy of Dracula Unredacted. I’ve listened to actual play podcasts about it and thus it excites me.

I asked this question to Brenda and she thinks Fate because everyone but her likes it. While I find Fate a fun system, I don’t have the spark of excitement to play it.

What game are you excited to play next? Is it an old game, something you saw at Gen Con or announced recently?

Leave a Reply

