RPGaDay: Favourite non-rpg thing to come out of rpging

On August 31st and last day of RPGaDay, the topic is my favourite non-rpg thing to come out of rpging. I had to think a bit about this one. I have to say, my favourite would be all the contacts I’ve made over the decades.

ac8e7-rpg2ba2bday2b20152b-2btwitter

I’ve made many friends and acquaintances over the years. Some contacts are good and some were not so good. I find them valuable as they permitted me to learn and experience. Those contacts showed me that rpging is a social game. I find that very valuable.

As I started with “Livres dont vos êtes le héros” also known as Choose Your Own Adventure books, I find the social experience important. I’m not this nerdy kid with his nose in a book who rolls dice or makes a decision and then consults which paragraph to flip to. I still have my nose in a book or pdf most of the time but when the game start, I interact with friends.

These contacts also permitted me to experience various things. I travelled to various conventions or organized game days around the world to play with different folks. I play-tested various games which either game out with my input influencing it or never came out for various reasons. I got to participate in various competitions (ex: Game Chef) and receive feedback from folk who are passionate of rpgs like I am.

Through trying and meeting folks, I went from being a regular guest of the Tome Show Book Club to guest host and now co-host. A fun experience which combines my love of reading and practising to speak in public without really being in public.

I’ve helped organize local clubs, manage local D&D encounters group, and now I’m one of the organizers of CanGames, Canada’s longest running tabletop games convention, which is celebrating its 40th annual convention in 2016. I am hoping you can join us and celebrate.

My favourite non-rpg thing is the community and building it. It’s not a finished job and there is still work to improve it. I imagine a community where anything who wishes to play a game can do so comfortably. Unfortunately, there are many social and political issues which I see or don’t see which unfortunately prevents certain folks to enjoy participating in a game. I’m still learning to notice them and especially notice societal habits in me which can be problematic. I’m not perfect and I make mistakes. I feel bad when I do but I try to learn and improve. I’m always happy to learn new stuff.

What is your favorite non-rpg thing to come out of rpging? How has it changed you?

I’d like to thank Dave Chapman to organize RPGaDay. I had fun doing it and it got me back to writing every day. Now I’ll go get some new topics for later.

Leave a Reply

