RPGaDay: Favourite idea for merging two games into one.

On August 27th, the topic of the day is my favourite idea to merge two games into one. I love mash-ups. I love mixing two different products into one and imagine how they interact. I have an idea in my mind to merge Pendragon by Greg Stafford and Call of Cthulhu by Sandy Petersen.

ac8e7-rpg2ba2bday2b20152b-2btwitter

My idea comes more from a story sense. Since Pendragon involves generational play and the Cthulhu Mythos has some plots which spans a long amount of time. Additionally, you have generations of Deep Ones in the mythos. I imagine a player knight discovering their heir has the Innsmouth look because his wife is a glamoured deep one. I feel those two could possibly work together.

Pendragon involves passionate characters and strong emotions. In Call of Cthulhu, the sanity mechanic is a rather simplistic personality mechanic. In the Cthulhu Mythos stories, you see strong emotions from folks. I could see it work with Pendragon’s personality mechanics.

In Pendragon, you have various mystery cults which you make them cults from the Cthulhu mythos. The deities are worshipped secretly. I’d just have to make a list of personality traits to represent the various cults.

In a way, Pendragon and Basic Roleplaying are close. Both systems use a roll under system. The difference is Pendragon uses a d20 and Call of Cthulhu uses a d100. This is a multiple difference of 5. A quick modification would be to either divide Call of Cthulhu monsters skills by 5. For Pendragon, you can multiply by 5 to get into Call of Cthulhu. I would need to make more changes to make it work as the skill list are very different.

I’ve place notes for myself. It is a project which I plan to work on from time to time. I refer to the Cthulhu Britannica book, Avalon: The County of Somerset for some ideas. It has some cool links in that book.

What two games do you wish to merge together? How would you do it?

One thought on “RPGaDay: Favourite idea for merging two games into one.

  1. I would merge Diablo III and Path of Exile. I would keep the graphics and playstyle of Diablo III but I would implement the depth of itemization and skill/talent tree of Path of Exile.

Leave a Reply

